3d in Clip Studio

I am having a hell of a time figuring out the right balance between handdrawing and using Blender for Doubting Thomas. I’m glad I gave myself permission early on to not worry too much about consistency of imagery so that I could be allowed to grow. This has made it possible to try out new workflows. I’m still not there yet, but I’m definitely getting better with each page.

Though I haven’t used them yet, I’ve known about the 3d characters feature in Clip Studio Paint for some while, it’s one of the reasons I purchased it. Here’s a video which shows how you can actually put your characters faces on the reference characters. This is similar to what I’ve been doing with Blender, and might save some time because then I could work just within Clip Studio.

I haven’t tried out the modelling software he’s referring to, but I think the video might be out of date as the link I found appeared to be free and in English instead of Japanese, so this really could be a direction to consider.

Leave a comment